Midnight Mystery

It was midnight, and I didn’t know what to expect.

Since when have the stories been true? Ghosts, werewolves, the greek myths. We all know these are false. Bigfoot, Champ, none of these are true. And yet… Well, I should probably start with the beginning. It was one of those camping trips, the kind where you suddenly decide to just go for it, you know? And we just went for it. After a nice long hike up the mountain, we set up camp near Norman Rock, the main sight we had set out to see. It was dark, save the fire, but we were not tired. My friends, Daniel, Matthew, and Elijah, were gathered around the fire, chatting away. Conversation died down like the fire, dwindling into coals. Being a funny type, I tried to stir the embers with a joke. “So, anyone know any good ghost stories?” Not like anyone actually, like, knew any good ones, right? Well, that’s where it got interesting.

Daniel spoke up, hesitantly. “So… you guys, I’ve always had a theory.” A chill ran down my spine. We were staring at him now, urging him onward. “Well, it began with my brother David, he was climbing up this mountain, when it got a little dark. He had brought a flashlight, of course, but he says it didn’t work, it was broken. He tried to fix it for a while and was so like, engaged in his work, he didn’t notice the time passing by. But when he looked up from his work, it was dark. Really dark. And… Well, nevermind.” We waited.

“Oh, seriously? What happened, you can’t stop there!” Matthew said.

“Yeah, it can’t be that scary! I wanna hear!” Elijah spoke up.

Daniel sighed. “Okay guys, don’t say I didn’t warn you. I will try and get by this as quickly as possible. His flashlight died down, and he so he turned back. It got darker and darker, and as he went down the hill he kept hearing noises, cracking, crunching. He was 18 years old, but he was getting scared. He heard one crack that sounded like a whisper. He tried to calm his fears, and he knew it wasn’t true, so he forced himself to convince himself by like… going there and seeing what it was. He turned and walked towards the noise, knowing it wasn’t true.”

I leaned over to Matthew and spoke under my breath, joking – but only half joking. “Maybe I didn’t want to hear this, Beastly.”

He turned to me and whispered, “This is a good story, it sounds credible.” I turned away and continued listening. Another whisper came to me, “You should be scared.” I turned to him with a puzzled look on my face. His voice sounded different. But he wasn’t leaning over at me, he was staring with a terrified look at something beyond the fire. I looked, and I couldn’t believe it.

“Guys. Over there.” I spoke, hardly audibly. Elijah turned. Daniel was the only one left,  he was facing me. We all stared behind him, in absolute terror. Daniel didn’t turn. All he said was. “It’s true. The stories are true.”

 

Note from the Author: This story was written in a writing group, with a 10 minute timer and a few prompts to choose from. It’s one of my favorite works.

Leave a Reply

